His Majesty King Charles III


The Board of Trustees

  • HRH Prince Turki Al-Faisal, Director, King Faisal Centre for Research and Islamic Studies, Riyadh (Chairman)
  • HRH Sultan Nazrin Shah, Sultan of Perak, Malaysia (Vice Chairman)
  • HE Dr Sheikh Mohammed Al-Sabah, Former Prime Minister of the State of Kuwait
  • Mr Khalid Alireza, CEO, Xenel Industries Ltd, Jeddah
  • Rt Hon Dominic Grieve KC, former Attorney General for England and Wales
  • HE Dr Abdullah Gül, 11th President of the Republic of Türkiye
  • His Eminence Muhammad Sa'ad Abubakar, Sultan of Sokoto, Nigeria
  • HE Sheikha Hind bint Hamad Al Thani, Vice Chair and CEO, Qatar Foundation
  • Tan Sri Datuk Zarinah Anwar, Chair of the Institute of Corporate Directors, Malaysia 
  • Sir Martin Donnelly, KCB, former Permanent Secretary at the Department of International Trade
  • Professor Rashid Naim, Department of Political Science, Georgia State University, USA
  • Dr Catherine Swales, Director of Clinical Studies, Medical Science Division, University of Oxford


Secretary to Board of Trustees

Dr Farhan Ahmad Nizami, CBE, Fellow, Magdalen College, Oxford


Strategy Advisory Committee

The Strategy Advisory Committee reviews all aspects of the Centre's activities. The members of the Committee are:

  • HRH Prince Turki Al-Faisal, Director, King Faisal Centre for Research and Islamic Studies, Riyadh (Chairman)
  • The Rt Hon Sir Clive Alderton, KCVOPrincipal Private Secretary to Their Majesties The King and The Queen
  • Lord Phillips of Worth Matravers KG, former President of the UK Supreme Court 
  • The Rt Hon Jack Straw, former Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs
  • The Rt Revd and Rt Hon The Lord Williams of Oystermouth, former Archbishop of Canterbury
  • The Rt Hon Andrew Mitchell MP, former Deputy Secretary of State, Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office
  • Dr Farhan Nizami CBE, HM King Charles III Fellow, Magdalen College, Oxford; Director of the Oxford Centre for Islamic Studies


International Academic Advisory Committee

The purpose of this Committee is to sustain and advance the Centre's global network of contacts with scholars and institutions. The members of the Committee are:

  • Dr Usman Bugaje, former Special Adviser to the President of Nigeria
  • Professor François Burgat, formerly Director, IFPO, France
  • Sir Jeremy Greenstock, former UK Permanent Representative to the United Nations
  • Professor Abdullah Y. Al-Ghunaim, Chair, Centre for Research and Studies on Kuwait
  • Professor Carole Hillenbrand, Professor Emerita of Islamic History, University of Edinburgh, and Professor of Islamic History, University of St Andrews
  • Mr Salman Khurshid, former Foreign Minister of India
  • Professor Bruce B. Lawrence, Professor Emeritus, Duke University, USA
  • Professor Rahma Al-Mahrooqi, Minister of Higher Education, Scientific Research and Innovation, Sultanate of Oman
  • Mr Marty Natalegawa, former Foreign Minister of Indonesia
  • Dr Driss Ouaouicha, former President, Al Akhawayn University, Morocco
  • Dr Don Randel, former President, Andrew W Mellon Foundation, USA
  • Mr Sodiq Safoyev, first Deputy Chair of the Senate of Oliy Majlis, Republic of Uzbekistan
  • Shaikh Mohamed Al-Thani, former Minister of Economy and Commerce, Qatar


Academic Advisory Committee

Each Term this Committee reviews the Centre’s contribution to teaching and research at the University of Oxford. The members of the Committee are:

  • Dr Silke Ackermann, Director, History of Science Museum, Oxford
  • Professor Christopher Adams, Oxford Department of International Development
  • Professor Judith Buchanan, Master, St Peter's College, Oxford
  • Mr Tom Fletcher, Principal, Hertford College, Oxford
  • Dame Helen Ghosh, Master, Balliol College, Oxford
  • Professor Roger Goodman, Warden, St Antony’s College
  • Mr Robert Hannigan, Warden, Wadham College, Oxford
  • Professor Robert Iliffe, Chair, History Faculty Board, Oxford University
  • Dr Farhan Nizami, Director, Oxford Centre for Islamic Studies, Oxford
  • Dinah Rose KC, President, Magdalen College, Oxford
  • Professor William Wood, Chair, Theology and Religion Faculty Board, Oxford University